The Symphony No. 8 in E-flat major by Gustav Mahler is one of the largest-scale choral works in the classical concert repertoire. Because it requires huge instrumental and vocal forces it is frequently called the "Symphony of a Thousand", although the work is normally presented with far fewer than a thousand performers and the composer did not sanction that name. The work was composed in a single inspired burst, at Maiernigg in southern Austria in the summer of 1906. The last of Mahler's works that was premiered in his lifetime, the symphony was a critical and popular success when he conducted the Munich Philharmonic in its first performance, in Munich, on 12 September 1910.

Librettist Anonymous; Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Date of composition 1907 (1906-1907) in Maiernigg, Austria
Premiered 1910, September 12th in Munich, Germany by Gustav Mahler
Type Symphony
Tonality E-flat Major
Approx. duration 70 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Children's chorus
Voice (Soprano) - Magna Peccatrix (a sinful woman)
Voice (Soprano) - Una poenitentium (a penitent formerly known as Gretchen)
Voice (Soprano) - Mater Gloriosa (the Virgin Mary)
Voice (Alto) - Mulier Samaritana (a Samaritan woman)
Voice (Alto) - Maria Aegyptiaca (Mary of Egypt)
Voice (Tenor) - Doctor Marianus
Voice (Baritone) - Pater Ecstaticus
Voice (Bass) - Pater Profundus
2x Chorus/Choir
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Gustav Mahler: Symphonie n°8 en mi bémol majeur "Symphony of a Thousand"
Gustav Mahler: Sinfonia n. 8 in mi bemolle maggiore "Symphony of a Thousand"
Gustav Mahler: Sinfonie Nr. 8 Es-dur "Symphony of a Thousand"