The Third Symphony is scored for two flutes, two oboes, two clarinets in B♭, two bassoons, four french horns in E♭, two trumpets in E♭, three trombones, timpani and strings. It premiered on 6 February 1851 in Düsseldorf, conducted by Schumann himself, and was received with mixed reviews, "ranging from praise without qualification to bewilderment". However, according to Peter A. Brown, members of the audience applauded between every movement, and especially at the end of the work when the orchestra joined them in congratulating Schumann by shouting "hurrah!".

Date of composition 1850 (from 2 November to 9 December 1850)
Premiered 1851, February 6th in Düsseldorf, Germany by Robert Schumann
Type Symphony
Tonality E-flat Major
Catalogue Op. 97
Approx. duration 30 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Robert Schumann: Symphonie n°3 en mi bémol majeur, Op. 97 "Rhenish"
Robert Schumann: Sinfonia n. 3 in mi bemolle maggiore, Op. 97 "Rhenish"
Robert Schumann: Sinfonie Nr. 3 Es-dur, Op. 97 "Rhenish"