The symphony does not appear on concert programs very often, yet many recent scholars have ranked it among the composer’s finest scores. Although some have argued that the work falls within the tradition of other C minor "tragedy to triumph" symphonies, such as Beethoven's Fifth, Brahms' First, Bruckner's Eighth, and Mahler's Second, there is considerable disagreement over the level of optimism present in the final pages. Shostakovich's friend Isaak Glikman called this symphony "his most tragic work". The work, like many of his symphonies, breaks some of the standard conventions of symphonic form and structure. Shostakovich clearly references themes, rhythms and harmonies from his previous symphonies, most notably his Fifth Symphony and his Seventh Symphony.

Date of composition 1943
Premiered 1943, November 4th
Type Symphony
Tonality C Minor
Catalogue Op. 65
Approx. duration 50 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Dmitri Chostakovitch: Symphonie n°8 en do mineur, Op. 65
Dmitrij Šostakovič: Sinfonia n. 8 in do minore, Op. 65
Dmitri Dmitrijewitsch Schostakowitsch: Sinfonie Nr. 8 c-moll, Op. 65