Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor (BWV 582) is an organ piece by Johann Sebastian Bach. Presumably composed early in Bach's career, it is one of his most important and well-known works, and an important influence on 19th and 20th century passacaglias: Robert Schumann described the variations of the passacaglia as "intertwined so ingeniously that one can never cease to be amazed."

Date of composition 1712 (1708-1712?)
First published 1846 or earlier Hofmeister's Monatsbericht (1846), p.21 (pf4h arr.) in Leipzig, Germany
Type Passacaglia
Tonality C Minor
Catalogue BWV 582
Approx. duration 14 minutes
Instruments Organ
Autotranslations beta Jean-S├ębastien Bach: Passacaille en do mineur, BWV 582
Johann Sebastian Bach: Passacaglia in do minore, BWV 582
Johann Sebastian Bach: Passacaglia c-moll, BWV 582