It is based on the play The Tempest by William Shakespeare. Similar in structure to Tchaikovsky's better-known Romeo and Juliet fantasy-overture, it contains themes depicting the stillness of the ship at sea, the grotesque nature of Caliban, and the love between Ferdinand and Miranda. The love music is particularly strong, being reminiscent of the love music from Romeo and Juliet.

Librettist William Shakespeare
Tempo Andante con moto—Allegro moderato
Date of composition 1873
Premiered 1873, December 19th in Moscow, Russia
First published 1875 in Moscow, Russia
Dedicated to Dedicated to Vladimir Stasov
Type Symphonic Poem
Tonality F Minor
Catalogue Op. 18
Approx. duration 23 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski: The Tempest en fa mineur, Op. 18
Pëtr Il'ič Čajkovskij: The Tempest in fa minore, Op. 18
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski: The Tempest f-moll, Op. 18