Aram Khachaturian's Violin Concerto in D minor was completed in 1940 and dedicated to the Russian violinist David Oistrakh, who premièred the concerto in Moscow on September 16, 1940. Oistrakh advised Khachaturian on the composition of the solo part and also wrote his own cadenza that markedly differs from the one originally composed by Khachaturian. The concerto was initially well received and awarded the Stalin Prize for arts in 1941. The work became a staple of the 20th century violin repertoire, and maintains its popularity into the 21st century.

Date of composition 1940
Premiered 1940, September 16th in Moscow, Russia
Type Concerto
Tonality D Minor
Approx. duration 35 minutes
Instruments Violin
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Aram Khatchatourian: Concerto pour violon en ré mineur
Aram Il'ič Chačaturjan: Concerto per violino in re minore
Aram Chatschaturjan: Konzert für Violine d-moll