At two separate times, Felix Mendelssohn composed music for William Shakespeare's play, A Midsummer Night's Dream. First in 1826, near the start of his career, he wrote a concert overture (Op. 21). Later, in 1842, only a few years before his death, he wrote incidental music (Op. 61) for a production of the play, into which he incorporated the existing Overture. The incidental music includes the world-famous Wedding March. The German title reads Ein Sommernachtstraum.

Librettist William Shakespeare
Date of composition 1842
Premiered 1843, October 14th in Potsdam, Germany by Felix Mendelssohn
First published 1844, Breitkopf und Härtel in Leipzig, Germany
Type Incidental music
Catalogue Op. 61
Instruments Voice - Solo voices ;
Arrangements Franz Liszt: Konzertparaphrase über Mendelssohns Hochzeitsmarsch und Elfenreigen aus der Musik zu Shakespeares Sommernachtstraum, S. 410
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Felix Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 61
Felix Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 61
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 61