Edvard Grieg (1843-1907) was one of the definitive leaders of Scandinavian music and his influence was great. Although composing many short piano pieces and chamber works, the work Grieg did for Henrik Ibsen stood out. Originally composing 90 minutes of orchestral music for the play, he later went back and extracted certain sections for the suites. Peer Gynt's travels around the world and distant lands are represented by the instruments Grieg chooses to use. The Peer Gynt suites are among his most well-known works, however they initially began as incidental compositions.

Librettist Henrik Ibsen
Date of composition 1875
First published 1877
Type Incidental music
Catalogue Op. 23
Instruments Orchestra
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Edvard Grieg: Peer Gynt Suite n°1, Op. 23
Edvard Grieg: Peer Gynt Suite n. 1, Op. 23
Edvard Grieg: Peer Gynt Suite Nr. 1, Op. 23