The Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88, B. 163, is a symphony by Antonín Dvořák, composed in 1889 at Vysoká u Příbramě, Bohemia, on the occasion of his election to the Bohemian Academy of Science, Literature and Arts. Dvořák conducted the premiere in Prague on 2 February 1890. In contrast to other symphonies of both the composer and the period, the music is cheerful and optimistic. It was originally published as Symphony No. 4.

Date of composition 1889 (Composed between 26th of August and 8th of November 1889) in Vysoká u P?íbram?, Czech Republic
Premiered 1890, February 2nd in Prague, Czech Republic by Antonín Dvořák
First published 1892
Type Symphony
Tonality G Major
Catalogue Op. 88
Approx. duration 36 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Antonín Dvořák: Symphonie n°8 en sol majeur, Op. 88
Antonín Dvořák: Sinfonia n. 8 in sol maggiore, Op. 88
Antonín Dvořák: Sinfonie Nr. 8 G-dur, Op. 88