Scriabin sometimes referred to The Poem of Ecstasy as his "fourth symphony", although it was never officially called such and avoids the traditional division into separate movements. Although played as a single movement, there are traces of the classical sonata key-scheme that Scriabin had employed previously, but it is no longer structurally important. As described by Bernard Jacobson, "The form depends instead on the constant interpenetration and cross-fertilization of a multiplicity of tiny thematic units, most of them so sinuously chromatic as to subvert tonal feeling almost entirely beneath the vertiginous onslaught of shifting harmonic colors."

Original Name Le Poème de l'extase
Date of composition 1908 (1905-1908)
Type Symphonic Poem
Catalogue Op. 54
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Alexandre Scriabine: The Poem of Ecstasy, Op. 54
Aleksandr Nikolaevič Skrjabin: The Poem of Ecstasy, Op. 54
Alexander Nikolajewitsch Skrjabin: The Poem of Ecstasy, Op. 54