The work was composed in 1842, during Schumann's "Chamber Music Year." Prior to that year Schumann had completed no chamber music at all with the exception of an early piano quartet (in 1829). However, during his year-long concentration on the genre he wrote three string quartets and a piano quintet in addition to the piano quartet.

Date of composition 1842
Tonality E-flat Major
Catalogue Op. 47
Instruments Piano
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Robert Schumann: Quatuor pour piano en mi bémol majeur, Op. 47
Robert Schumann: Quartetto per pianoforte in mi bemolle maggiore, Op. 47
Robert Schumann: Quartett für Klavier Es-dur, Op. 47