The Piano Quintet in E-flat major, Op. 44, by Robert Schumann was composed in 1842 and received its first public performance the following year. Noted for its "extroverted, exuberant" character, Schumann's piano quintet is considered one of his finest compositions and a major work of nineteenth-century chamber music. Composed for piano and string quartet, the work revolutionized the instrumentation and musical character of the piano quintet and established it as a quintessentially Romantic genre.

Date of composition 1842
First published 1843
Dedicated to Clara Schumann (Wieck)
Type Quintet
Tonality E-flat Major
Catalogue Op. 44
Approx. duration 30 minutes
Instruments Piano
2x Violin
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Robert Schumann: Quintette pour piano en mi bémol majeur, Op. 44
Robert Schumann: Quintetto per pianoforte in mi bemolle maggiore, Op. 44
Robert Schumann: Quintett für Klavier Es-dur, Op. 44