The Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, Pathétique is Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's final completed symphony, written between February and the end of August 1893. The composer entitled the work "The Passionate Symphony", employing a Russian word, Патетическая (Pateticheskaya), meaning "passionate" or "emotional", that was then mistranslated into French as pathetique, "evoking pity", yet the mistranslation survived subsequent productions in every country but Russia. The composer led the first performance in Saint Petersburg on 16/28 October of that year, nine days before his death. The second performance, conducted by Eduard Nápravník, took place 21 days later, at a memorial concert on 6/18 November. It included some minor corrections that Tchaikovsky had made after the premiere, and was thus the first performance of the work in the exact form in which it is known today. The first performance in Moscow was on 4/16 December, conducted by Vasily Safonov. It was the last of Tchaikovsky's compositions premiered in his lifetime; his last composition of all, the single-movement 3rd Piano Concerto, Op. 75, which was completed in October 1893, a short time before his death, received a posthumous premiere.

Date of composition 1893
Premiered 1893, October 28th in Russia, Saint Petersburg by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Type Symphony
Tonality B Minor
Catalogue Op. 74
Approx. duration 45 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski: Symphonie n°6 en si mineur, Op. 74 "Pathétique"
Pëtr Il'ič Čajkovskij: Sinfonia n. 6 in si minore, Op. 74 "Pathétique"
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski: Sinfonie Nr. 6 h-moll, Op. 74 "Pathétique"