The work is in standard four movement form and scored for flute, two oboes, two bassoons, two trumpets, two horns, timpani and strings (violin I, violin II, viola, cello, double bass). Out of the six Paris symphonies, the 86th and 82nd are the only two to use percussion and trumpets. There are four movements:

Date of composition 1786
Type Symphony
Tonality D Major
Catalogue Hob. I:86
Approx. duration 27 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Joseph Haydn: Symphonie n°86 en ré majeur, Hob. I:86 "Sinfonia 86"
Franz Joseph Haydn: Sinfonia n. 86 in re maggiore, Hob. I:86 "Sinfonia 86"
Joseph Haydn: Sinfonie Nr. 86 D-dur, Hob. I:86 "Sinfonia 86"