The piece is in only one movement and takes around 12 minutes to perform. It is scored for four first violins, three second violins, two violas, two cellos and one double bass, even though it is clarified by Xenakis that it can also be performed by a larger string orchestra or ensemble. Aroura makes an extensive use of glissandos, jagged chords, sound clusters and other techniques exploited in avant-garde movements.

Date of composition 1971
Premiered 1971, August 24th in Lucerne, Switzerland
First published in 1971 by Éditions Salabert
Approx. duration 12 minutes
Instruments String Ensemble
Autotranslations beta Iannis Xenakis: Aroura
Iannis Xenakis: Aroura
Iannis Xenakis: Aroura