The music derives from Prokofiev's opera The Fiery Angel, a touching love story set against the backdrop of demonic possession. This opera had been accepted for performance in the 1927-28 season at the Berlin State Opera by Bruno Walter, but this production never materialised; in fact, the opera was never staged in Prokofiev's lifetime. Prokofiev, who had been working on the opera for years, was reluctant to let the music languish unperformed, and after hearing a concert performance of its second act given by Serge Koussevitzky in June 1928, he adapted parts of the opera to make his third symphony (shortly afterwards, he drew on his ballet The Prodigal Son for his Symphony No. 4 in similar fashion). The symphony, which was dedicated to Nikolai Myaskovsky was premiered on 17 May, 1929 by Pierre Monteux conducting the Orchestre Symphonique de Paris.

Date of composition 1928
Premiered 1929, May 17th in Paris, France
Type Symphony
Tonality C Minor
Catalogue Op. 44
Approx. duration 35 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Sergueï Prokofiev: Symphonie n°3 en do mineur, Op. 44
Sergej Sergeevič Prokof'ev: Sinfonia n. 3 in do minore, Op. 44
Sergei Sergejewitsch Prokofjew: Sinfonie Nr. 3 c-moll, Op. 44