The Maid of Orleans (Russian: Орлеанская дева, Orleanskaja deva) is an opera in 4 acts, 6 scenes, by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. It was composed during 1878–1879 to a Russian libretto by the composer, based on several sources: Friedrich Schiller’s The Maid of Orleans as translated by Vasily Zhukovsky; Jules Barbier’s Jeanne d’Arc (Joan of Arc); Auguste Mermet’s libretto for his own opera; and Henri Wallon’s biography of Joan of Arc. Dedicated to conductor Eduard Nápravník, this work represents the composer's closest approach to French grand opera, albeit in the Russian language, notably with its inclusion of a ballet in Act 2.

Librettist Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (Based on several sources: "The Maid of Orleans" by Friedrich Schiller; "Jeanne d’Arc" (Joan of Arc) by Jules Barbier; Auguste Mermet’s libretto for his own opera; and Henri Wallon’s biography of Joan of Arc.)
Date of composition 1879 (1878-1879)
Premiered 1881, February 25th (Mariinsky Theatre) in Saint Petersburg, Russia
Dedicated to Dedicated to Eduard Nápravník
Type Opera
Approx. duration 156 minutes
Spoken language Russian
Instruments Voice (Tenor) - King Charles VII
Voice (Bass) - The Archbishop
Voice (Tenor) - The Pope
Voice (Baritone) - Dunois, a French knight
Voice (Baritone) - Lionel, a Burgundian knight
Voice (Bass) - Thibaut d'Arc, Joan's father
Voice (Tenor) - Raymond, Joan's betrothed
Voice (Bass) - Bertrand, a peasant
Voice (Bass) - Soldier
Voice (Soprano) - (or mezzo-soprano) Joan of Arc
Voice (Soprano) - Agnès Sorel
Voice (Soprano) - Angel, solo voice in the choir of angels
Chorus/Choir - Mixed Chorus ; Courtiers and ladies, French and English soldiers, knights, monks, Gypsies, pages, buffoons, dwarfs, minstrels, executioners, people
Autotranslations beta Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski: The Maid of Orleans
Pëtr Il'ič Čajkovskij: The Maid of Orleans
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski: The Maid of Orleans