The Oprichnik or The Guardsman (Russian: Опричник, Oprichnik) is an opera in 4 acts, 5 scenes, by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840–1893) to his own libretto after the tragedy The Oprichniks (Russian: Опричники) by Ivan Lazhechnikov (1792–1869). The subject of the opera is the oprichniks. It is set in Ivan the Terrible's court during the oprichnina times (1565–1573).

Librettist Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (Based on the tragedy "The Oprichniks" by Ivan Lazhechnikov)
Date of composition 1872 (1870-1872)
Premiered 1874, April 24th (Maryinsky Theatre) in Saint Petersburg, Russia
First published 1874 in Saint Petersburg, Russia
Dedicated to Dedicated to Grand Duke Konstantin Nikolayevich of Russia
Type Opera
Approx. duration 98 minutes
Spoken language Russian
Instruments Orchestra
Voice (Bass) - Prince Zhemchuzhnïy
Voice (Soprano) - Natalya, Prince Zhemchuzhnïy's daughter
Voice (Bass) - Molchan Mitkov, the bridegroom of Natalya
Voice (Mezzo-Soprano) - Boyarïnya Morozova, the widow
Voice (Tenor) - Andrey Morozov, Boyarïnya Morozova's son
Voice (Contralto) - Basmanov, a young oprichnik
Voice (Baritone) - Prince Vyazminsky
Voice (Soprano) - Zakharyevna
Chorus/Choir - Mixed Chorus ; People
Autotranslations beta Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski: The Oprichnik
Pëtr Il'ič Čajkovskij: The Oprichnik
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski: The Oprichnik