Vakula the Smith (Russian: Кузнец Вакула, Kuznets Vakula, Smith Vakula), Op. 14, is an opera in 3 acts, 8 scenes, by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. The libretto was written by Yakov Polonsky and is based on Nikolai Gogol's story Christmas Eve (Russian: Ночь перед ождеством, Noch péred Rozhdestvóm). It was written for composer Alexander Serov, who died in 1871 leaving only fragments of an opera on the subject.

Librettist Yakov Polonsky (Based on "Christmas Eve" by Nikolai Gogol)
Date of composition 1874 (Composed between June and 21 August 1874) in Nizy, Chernihivs'ka oblast, Ukraine
Premiered 1876, December 6th (Mariinsky Theatre) in Saint Petersburg, Russia
Dedicated to Dedicated to the memory of Grand Duchess Elena Pavlovna who had died in 1873
Type Opera
Catalogue Op. 14
Spoken language Russian
Instruments Voice (Tenor) - Vakula, a smith
Voice (Mezzo-Soprano) - Solokha, Vakula's mother, a witch
Voice (Bass) - A devil from Hell, a fantastic character
Voice (Bass) - Chub, an elderly Cossack
Voice (Soprano) - Oksana, Chub's daughter
Voice (Bass) - Pan Golova
Voice (Tenor) - Panas, Chub's crony
Voice (Tenor) - Schoolmaster
3x Voice - Schoolmaster's Highness
Voice (Bass) - Master of Ceremonies
Voice (Tenor) - Attendant
Voice (Bass) - Old Cossack
Voice (Bass) - Wood Goblin
Chorus/Choir - Lads, lasses, elders, gusli-players, rusalki, wood-sprites, echo, spirits, court ladies and gentlemen, Zaporozhtsï
Arrangements Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Cherevichki
Autotranslations beta Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski: Vakula the Smith, Op. 14
Pëtr Il'ič Čajkovskij: Vakula the Smith, Op. 14
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski: Vakula the Smith, Op. 14