The String Quartet No. 1 in D major, Opus 11, was Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's first completed string quartet of three string quartets, published during his lifetime. (An earlier attempt had been abandoned after the first movement had been completed. ) Composed in February 1871, it was premiered in Moscow on 16/28 March 1871 by four members of the Russian Musical Society: Ferdinand Laub and Ludvig Minkus, violins; Pryanishnikov, viola; and Wilhelm Fitzenhagen, cello. Tchaikovsky subsequently arranged the second movement, Andante cantabile, for cello and string orchestra.

Date of composition 1871
Premiered 1872, March 28th in Moscow, Russia
First published 1872 in Moscow, Russia
Dedicated to Dedicated to Sergey Rachinsky
Type String Quartet
Tonality D Major
Catalogue Op. 11
Approx. duration 29 minutes
Instruments String Quartet
Autotranslations beta Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski: Quatuor à cordes n°1 en ré majeur, Op. 11
Pëtr Il'ič Čajkovskij: Quartetto d'archi n. 1 in re maggiore, Op. 11
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski: Streichquartett Nr. 1 D-dur, Op. 11