Alban Berg's Violin Concerto was written in 1935 (the score is dated 11 August 1935). It is probably Berg's best-known and most frequently performed instrumental piece, in which the composer sought to reconcile diatonicism and dodecaphony. Berg composed it on a commission from Louis Krasner, and it became the last work that he completed. Krasner performed the solo part in the premiere at the Palau de la Música Catalana, Barcelona on 19 April 1936, after the composer's death.

Date of composition 1935
Premiered 1936, April 19th (Palau de la Música Catalana) in Barcelona, Spain
First published 1936
Dedicated to Manon Gropius - "To the memory of an angel"
Type Concert
Tonality Twelve-tone
Approx. duration 28 minutes
Instruments Violin - Solo ;
Autotranslations beta Alban Berg: Concerto pour violon
Alban Berg: Concerto per violino
Alban Berg: Konzert für Violine