Ivan the Terrible (Russian: Иван Грозный), Op. 116, is the score composed by Sergei Prokofiev in 1942-45 for Sergei Eisenstein's film Ivan the Terrible and its sequel, the first two parts of an incomplete trilogy. The project was Prokofiev's second collaboration with Eisenstein, the first being the popular Aleksandr Nevskiy (1938). The majority of the song texts were written by Vladimir Lugovskoy, who collaborated with Prokofiev on the texts for Aleksandr Nevskiy.

Librettist (Film score for "Ivan the Terrible" by Sergeï Eisenstein)
Date of composition 1945 (1942-1945)
Type Film score
Catalogue Op. 116
Approx. duration 100 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
2x Voice
Autotranslations beta Sergueï Prokofiev: Ivan the Terrible, Op. 116
Sergej Sergeevič Prokof'ev: Ivan the Terrible, Op. 116
Sergei Sergejewitsch Prokofjew: Ivan the Terrible, Op. 116