The Symphony No. 39 is the first of a set of three (his last symphonies) that Mozart composed in rapid succession during the summer of 1788. No. 40 was completed 25 July and No. 41 on 10 August. Nikolaus Harnoncourt argues that Mozart composed the three symphonies as a unified work, pointing, among other things, to the fact that the Symphony No. 39 has a grand introduction (in the manner of an overture) but no coda.

Date of composition 1788
Type Symphony
Tonality E-flat Major
Catalogue KV 543
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphonie n°39 en mi bémol majeur, KV 543
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sinfonia n. 39 in mi bemolle maggiore, KV 543
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sinfonie Nr. 39 Es-dur, KV 543