Genoveva, Op. 81 is an opera in four acts by Robert Schumann in the genre of German Romanticism with a libretto by Robert Reinick and the composer. The only opera Schumann ever wrote, it received its first performance on 25 June 1850 at the Stadttheater in Leipzig, with the composer conducting. It received only three performances during the premiere, and the negative criticism it received in the press played a decisive role in Schumann's decision to not write a second opera.

Librettist Johann Ludwig Tieck; Robert Reinick and the composer
Date of composition 1848
Premiered 1850, June 26th (Stadttheater) in Leipzig, Germany by Robert Schumann
Type Opera
Catalogue Op. 81
Approx. duration 80 minutes
Spoken language German
Instruments Voice (Soprano) - Genoveva, Siegfried's wife
Voice (Tenor) - Golo, Siegfried's head servant
Voice (Baritone) - Siegfried, Count of Brabante
Voice (Baritone) - Hidulfus, Bishop of Trier
Voice (Soprano) - Margaretha, a servant
Voice (Bass) - Drago, an old steward
Voice (Bass) - Balthasar, Siegfried's servant
Voice (Baritone) - Caspar, a hunter
Voice (Baritone) - Angelo
Voice (Baritone) - Conrad, Siegfried's farmhand
Autotranslations beta Robert Schumann: Genoveva, Op. 81
Robert Schumann: Genoveva, Op. 81
Robert Schumann: Genoveva, Op. 81