The String Quartet in E minor, Op. 83, was one of three major chamber music works composed by Sir Edward Elgar in 1918. The others were the Violin Sonata in E minor, Op. 82, and the Piano Quintet in A minor, Op. 84. Along with the Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85 of 1919, these were to be his last major works prior to his death in 1934.

Date of composition 1918
First published 1919
Type String Quartet
Tonality E Minor
Catalogue Op. 83
Instruments Viola
2x Violin
Autotranslations beta Edward Elgar: Quatuor à cordes en mi mineur, Op. 83
Edward Elgar: Quartetto d'archi in mi minore, Op. 83
Edward Elgar: Streichquartett e-moll, Op. 83