Sir Edward Elgar wrote his Violin Sonata in E minor, Op. 82, in 1918, at the same time as he wrote his String Quartet in E minor and his Piano Quintet in A minor. These three chamber music works were all written at "Brinkwells", the country house near Fittleworth in West Sussex that Lady Elgar had acquired for her husband to recuperate and compose in, and they mark his major contribution to the chamber music genre. His Cello Concerto in E minor of 1919 completed the quartet of introspective and melancholy works that comprised Elgar's last major creative spurt before his death in 1934.

Date of composition 1918
Tonality E Minor
Catalogue Op. 82
Instruments Violin
Autotranslations beta Edward Elgar: Sonate pour violon en mi mineur, Op. 82
Edward Elgar: Sonata per violino in mi minore, Op. 82
Edward Elgar: Sonate für Violine e-moll, Op. 82