Sir Edward Elgar's Symphony No. 1 in A♭ major, Op. 55 is one of his two completed symphonies. The first performance was given by the Hallé Orchestra conducted by Hans Richter in Manchester, England, on 3 December 1908. It was widely known that Elgar had been planning a symphony for more than ten years, and the announcement that he had finally completed it aroused enormous interest. The critical reception was enthusiastic, and the public response unprecedented. The symphony achieved what The Musical Times described as "immediate and phenomenal success", with a hundred performances in Britain, continental Europe and America within just over a year of its première.

Date of composition 1908 (1907-1908)
First published 1908
Type Symphony
Tonality A-flat Major
Catalogue Op. 55
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Edward Elgar: Symphonie n°1 en la bémol majeur, Op. 55
Edward Elgar: Sinfonia n. 1 in la bemolle maggiore, Op. 55
Edward Elgar: Sinfonie Nr. 1 As-dur, Op. 55