Joseph Haydn wrote his Symphony No. 8 in G major under the employ of Prince Esterházy in 1761, in the transition between the Baroque and Classical periods. It is the third part of a set of three symphonies – Le matin ("Morning"; No. 6), Le midi ("Noon"; No. 7) and Le soir ("Evening"; No. 8).

Date of composition 1761
First published 1777
Type Symphony
Tonality G Major
Catalogue Hob. I:8
Approx. duration 26 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Joseph Haydn: Symphonie n°8 en sol majeur, Hob. I:8 "Le Soir"
Franz Joseph Haydn: Sinfonia n. 8 in sol maggiore, Hob. I:8 "Le Soir"
Joseph Haydn: Sinfonie Nr. 8 G-dur, Hob. I:8 "Le Soir"