The first movement starts with a four-note motif in unison, reminiscent of the Symphony No. 44 (Trauer), but quasi-inverted. It is developed in various keys, with frequent modulations into the minor and to other remote keys. In a deliberate 'surprise', the movement seems to enter the recapitulation seconds after the development begins, before jumping back to a dramatic development passage. The recapitulation continues the development still further, moving into dissonance, before an abrupt ending.

Date of composition 1772
Type Symphony
Tonality B Major
Catalogue Hob. I:46
Approx. duration 20 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Joseph Haydn: Symphonie n°46 en si majeur, Hob. I:46
Franz Joseph Haydn: Sinfonia n. 46 in si maggiore, Hob. I:46
Joseph Haydn: Sinfonie Nr. 46 H-dur, Hob. I:46