The opera is a pasticcio (pastiche), meaning that the music of the arias was assembled from earlier works, mainly other operas and cantatas also by Handel. The recitatives and parts of the dances are the only parts composed specifically for this work. Handel had put together similar works before, fitting the music of pre-existent arias to new words, but this was the first time he had made an opera in this way using entirely his own music. He assembled a collection of his arias from the previous years, ranging from Agrippina of 1709 to Sosarme of 1732, binding the pre-existent music seamlessly together with the newly-written recitatives to create a new musical drama.

Librettist Anonymously adapted from Giangualberto Barlocci’s L’Oreste
Premiered 1734, December 18th (Covent Garden Theatre) in London, UK
Type Pastiche
Catalogue HWV 11 A
Spoken language Italian
Instruments Voice (Castrato) - Oreste
Voice (Soprano) - Ifigenia, priestess of Diana
Voice (Soprano) - Ermione, Oreste's wife
Voice (Bass) - Toante, king of the Tauri
Voice (Contralto) - Filotete, captain of King Toante's guard
Voice (Tenor) - Pilade, faithful friend and companion of Oreste
Autotranslations beta Georg Friedrich Haendel: Oreste, HWV 11 A
Georg Friedrich Händel: Oreste, HWV 11 A
Georg Friedrich Händel: Oreste, HWV 11 A