Hippolyte et Aricie (Hippolytus and Aricia) was the first opera by Jean-Philippe Rameau. It was premiered to great controversy by the Académie Royale de Musique at its theatre in the Palais-Royal in Paris on October 1, 1733. The French libretto, by Abbé Simon-Joseph Pellegrin, is based on Racine's tragedy Phèdre. The opera takes the traditional form of a tragédie en musique with an allegorical prologue followed by five acts. Early audiences found little else conventional about the work.

Librettist Simon Joseph Pellegrin
Date of composition 1733 (revised in: 1742-43, 1757, 1767;) in Versailles, France
First published 1733 in Paris, France
Type Tragédie en musique (Musical Tragedy)
Instruments Voice (Haute-contre) - Hippolyte (Hippolytus)
Voice (Soprano) - Aricie (Aricia)
Voice (Mezzo-Soprano) - Phèdre (Phaedra)
Voice (Bass) - Thésée (Theseus)
Voice (Baritone) - Pluton (Pluto)
Voice (Tenor) - Diane (Diana)
Voice (Soprano) - Œnone (Phèdre's confidante)
Voice (Tenor) - Arcas (friend to Thésée)
Voice (Haute-contre) - Mercure (Mercury)
Voice (Baritone) - Taille ; Tisiphone
Voice (Tenor) - L'Amour (Cupid)
Voice (Soprano) - La Grande Prêtresse (High Priestess)
Voice (Bass) - Parque (Faith)
Voice (Bass-Baritone) - Parque (Faith)
Voice (Haute-contre) - Parque (Faith)
Voice (Haute-contre) - Un suivant de l'Amour (follower of Cupid)
Voice (Soprano) - Une prêtresse (a priestess of Diana)
Voice (Soprano) - Une bergère (a shepherdess)
Voice (Soprano) - Une matelote (a female sailor)
Voice (Soprano) - Une chasseresse (a huntress)
Chorus/Choir - Spirits of the underworld, people of Troezen, sailors, huntsmen, nymphs of Diana, shepherds and shepherdesses, people of the forest
Autotranslations beta Jean-Philippe Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie
Jean-Philippe Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie
Jean-Philippe Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie