The first movement is in sonata form movement prefaced by a slow introduction. The second movement is in the key of A minor; the overall shape is A + B + B + A + coda, a strong contrast existing between the lyrical A and the signal-like B ideas. The movement begins with a motif from the coda of the first movement. The third movement is a scherzo and trio with the traditional structure A + B + A + B + A + coda. The scherzo is characterised by a dynamic rhythm, whilst the trio (un poco meno allegro) features a contrasting smooth melodic line. The fourth movement is structured in the same classical sonata form as the opening movement. The idea which follows the presentation of the first theme is equivocal in tonality. Wagner accelerates the tempo (più allegro) half way through the coda to generate increased excitement as the music moves towards its close.

Date of composition 1832 (revised in 1882)
Premiered 1832, December 15th (Euterpe music society) in Leipzig, Germany
First published 1911
Type Symphony
Tonality C Major
Catalogue WWV 29
Approx. duration 37 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Richard Wagner: Symphonie en do majeur, WWV 29
Richard Wagner: Sinfonia in do maggiore, WWV 29
Richard Wagner: Sinfonie C-dur, WWV 29