In October, 1881 Dvořák finished the sketches for his new opera Dimitrij, when he learned in the Vienna newspapers, that the Hellmesberger Quartet is proposing the performance of his new string quartet in December 1881. He was thus forced to interrupt the work on the opera, and began to compose a quartet.

Date of composition 1881 (Between late October and early November 1881)
Type String Quartet
Tonality C Major
Catalogue Op. 61
Approx. duration 30 minutes
Instruments Viola
2x Violin
Autotranslations beta Antonín Dvořák: Quatuor à cordes n°11 en do majeur, Op. 61
Antonín Dvořák: Quartetto d'archi n. 11 in do maggiore, Op. 61
Antonín Dvořák: Streichquartett Nr. 11 C-dur, Op. 61