The Symphony No. 2 in B-flat major, Op. 4, B. 12 was composed by Antonín Dvořák between August and October 1865. Dvořák sent the score to be bound, but could not pay the binder, who kept the score. A friend of his, with whom he was sharing lodgings, Moric Anger, lent Dvořák the money to pay off the binder and retrieve his score. Later, when Anger asked for repayment of the debt, Dvořák was again unable to pay, so Anger took the score as security and only returned it when Dvořák retracted a previous threat to destroy it, something Anger had always advised against. In 1887 Dvořák revised the score, thinning out the rather dense orchestration.

Date of composition 1865 (Composed between August and October 1865. Revised in 1887)
Premiered March 1888 in Prague, Czech Republic
First published 1955
Type Symphony
Tonality B-flat Major
Catalogue Op. 4
Approx. duration 55 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Antonín Dvořák: Symphonie n°2 en si bémol majeur, Op. 4
Antonín Dvořák: Sinfonia n. 2 in si bemolle maggiore, Op. 4
Antonín Dvořák: Sinfonie Nr. 2 B-dur, Op. 4