The violin sonata no. 1 in A minor, opus 105 of Robert Schumann was written the week of September 12– 16 September 1851. Schumann was reported to have expressed displeasure with the work ("I did not like the first Sonata for Violin and Piano; so I wrote a second one, which I hope has turned out better"). This was also the year of the premiere of the Rhenish symphony , and among compositions the substantial revision of the fourth symphony, the third piano trio, the oratorio Der Rose Pilgerfahrt, a number of piano works and two of his concert overtures, Julius Caesar (after Shakespeare) and Hermann und Dorothea after Goethe. ( )

Date of composition 1851
Premiered March 1852
First published 1852, Hofmeister in Leipzig, Germany
Tonality A Minor
Catalogue Op. 105
Approx. duration 16 minutes
Instruments Violin
Autotranslations beta Robert Schumann: Sonate pour violon n°1 en la mineur, Op. 105
Robert Schumann: Sonata per violino n. 1 in la minore, Op. 105
Robert Schumann: Sonate Nr. 1 für Violine a-moll, Op. 105