There are actually two other versions of the Finale. Haydn took the overture to an unknown opera which began in C major, and truncated the last dozen measures so as to conclude in D major. H. C. Robbins Landon has postulated that Haydn did not compose the third version of the Finale, but that instead another composer, hired by the publisher Sieber, was responsible. The Eulenburg edition, edited by Robbins Landon, includes both of Haydn's finales. The surviving autograph score of the second Finale had no flute or timpani parts, so Robbins Landon took them from a Hummel edition. For the timpani part there are rolls indicated by "tr" and a wavy line (something which occurs in none of the other movements except by Robbins Landon's editorial emendation in bar 16 of the first movement).

Date of composition 1777
Type Symphony
Tonality D Major
Catalogue Hob. I:53
Approx. duration 25 minutes
Spoken language French
Arrangement of Franz Joseph Haydn: Symphony No.53 in D major, Hob. I:53 " L'Impériale Version A"
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Joseph Haydn: Symphony 53 L'Impériale Version B en ré majeur, Hob. I:53 "L'Impériale Version B"
Franz Joseph Haydn: Symphony 53 L'Impériale Version B in re maggiore, Hob. I:53 "L'Impériale Version B"
Joseph Haydn: Symphony 53 L'Impériale Version B D-dur, Hob. I:53 "L'Impériale Version B"