The symphony exists in 3 versions. The first version is scored for 2 oboes, bassoon, 2 horns, and strings. Subsequently the second version included a second bassoon part and a timpani part. H.C. Robbins Landon has speculated that Haydn added flute and trumpet parts for a third version, performed in London. The full ensemble thus can consist of 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani and strings equalled only in scope by the late set of London Symphonies.

Date of composition 1774
Type Symphony
Tonality G Major
Catalogue Hob. I:54
Approx. duration 30 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Joseph Haydn: Symphonie n°54 en sol majeur, Hob. I:54
Franz Joseph Haydn: Sinfonia n. 54 in sol maggiore, Hob. I:54
Joseph Haydn: Sinfonie Nr. 54 G-dur, Hob. I:54