Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 3 in D major, Op. 29, was written in 1875. He began it at Vladimir Shilovsky's estate at Ussovo on 5 June and finished on 1 August at Verbovka. Dedicated to Shilovsky, the work is unique in Tchaikovsky's symphonic output in two ways: it is the only one of his seven symphonies (including the unnumbered Manfred Symphony) in a major key (discounting the unfinished Symphony in E♭ major); and it is the only one to contain five movements (an additional Alla tedesca movement occurs between the opening movement and the slow movement).

Date of composition 1875
Premiered 1875, November 19th in Russia, Moscow
Type Symphony
Tonality D Major
Catalogue Op. 29
Approx. duration 47 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski: Symphonie n°3 en ré majeur, Op. 29 "Polish"
Pëtr Il'ič Čajkovskij: Sinfonia n. 3 in re maggiore, Op. 29 "Polish"
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski: Sinfonie Nr. 3 D-dur, Op. 29 "Polish"