Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky wrote his Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Winter Daydreams (Russian: Зимние грёзы, Zimniye gryozy), Op. 13, in 1866, just after he accepted a professorship at the Moscow Conservatory: it is the composer's earliest notable work. The composer's brother Modest claimed this work cost Tchaikovsky more labor and suffering than any of his other works. Even so, he remained fond of it, writing to his patroness Nadezhda von Meck in 1883 that "although it is in many ways very immature, yet fundamentally it has more substance and is better than any of my other more mature works." He dedicated the symphony to Nikolai Rubinstein.

Date of composition 1866 (Revised in 1874)
Premiered 1868, February 15th in Russia, Moscow
Type Symphony
Tonality G Minor
Catalogue Op. 13
Approx. duration 45 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Arrangements Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Piano Sonata No.2 in C-sharp minor, Op. 80
Autotranslations beta Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski: Symphonie n°1 en sol mineur, Op. 13 "Winter Daydreams"
Pëtr Il'ič Čajkovskij: Sinfonia n. 1 in sol minore, Op. 13 "Winter Daydreams"
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski: Sinfonie Nr. 1 g-moll, Op. 13 "Winter Daydreams"